SBG: The Requizzes

Disclaimers: I did not invent Standards Based Grading, I did not come up with this system 100% on my own, I was/am a huge advocate for it in classrooms, and I do love Dan Meyers. Also, this is all my opinion. I will site things when necessary so you know I am not just making things up. Check my other posts!

SBGheadersmall

Depending on the timing of your assessments and how quickly your students are “mastering” the content, you may have a slightly different experience with your students requizzing.  My students are in class every other day for about 90 minutes, and quizzing takes place almost every other class.  At times, students are assessed the day after they have had instruction, but most of the time there is a class period between instruction and the 1st attempt.  My students are also 7th & 8th grade students who are generally highly motivated.  Most come in for help on their own and some even are learning how to get help outside of help from me.

Attempt #1 & #2 Scores: On average, I would say that most students got around a 3 for Attempt #1, with a few earning a 4 or 5, and a few kids getting a 1 or 2.  By Attempt #2, students were earning 3s and 4s, with more kids earning 5s.  Some times kids who got a 5 on Attempt #1, earned lower score on Attempt #2.  Some teachers may allow kids who earn a 5 on Attempt #1, not take Attempt #2, but I felt like that defeated the purpose of the system.  Students need to know it longer than to get a 5 on Attempt #1.

Attempt #3, #4, etc…: On the more challenging concepts, I would have 50-60% of my kids taking a requiz, but for the typical concept probably 30% of the students needed one.  There were a few concepts that less than 20% needed to requiz.  Most of my kids only needed to take Attempt #3.  There were a few cases where they were taking #4 and #5, and that was generally because of carelessness or not enough help between the attempts.  I had students come in during our remediation block, or come in early to take requizzes.  Students could also requiz after an in class quiz if there was time, and sometimes I would just find 10-15 minutes to allow them to requiz in class.

Organization of Requizzes:  I had my students responsible for getting the requiz, taking it, and turning it in.  My kids were able to handle this responsibility, and I trusted them not to steal the requizzes, peak at them before hand, or tell each other what was on it.  I started by keeping the requizzes organized (by concept) with a paperclip in a basket that I kept near my desk.  They didn’t stay organized and became a pile of papers in a basket pretty quickly.  I switched them into a thin binder, with each concept in a page protector. I also kept the original copy in their as well, so I (or a student) could grab it to make a quick copy if we ran out.

Grading the Requizzes: I kept a copy of each one, as the key, with me in my binder (where I keep my grade sheet, lesson plans, calendar, etc…) so that I could grade them whenever the students turned them in.  Some times I would grade them right as they turned them in so they had immediate feedback, but sometimes I would have a stack to grade over the weekend.  This stack was especially think at the end of the quarter.  Fortunately they were pretty quick to grade.  I would sort them by concept so that I was grading the same thing all at once.

Organizing the Grading: As I mentioned previously, I kept a hard copy grade sheet in my binder for when I graded their material.  It was easier for me to grade the quizzes/requizzes and quickly right the score on my grade sheet.  Then I could open my gradebook, and just quickly enter the scores.  Scrolling back and forth made me dizzy, but handling all Concept #14, Concept #15, Concept #10 requiz, etc… at once was easier, and I felt like I made less mistakes.

Getting kids to take Requizzes: Having students who access the ParentPortal, either online or through the app, or track their grades is obviously a dream.  I was lucky to have a lot of kids who did this.  I know my kids are hard workers, and most are intrinsically motivated, but I think that a lot of kids would work hard in this model.  They like seeing themselves grow, learn, and improve their grades.  If they don’t come in for the requizzes, their grade will be harmed so if they choose not to take them, its their grade!! Having a conversation with students, finding time that works with their schedule, and requiring them to take them are all ways to get them to do it.

Explanation to Students (& Parents) about Requizzing:  The whole point of this system is to keep track of what students know and to allow students to master the concepts at whatever pace (to a certain degree) they need. Everyone learns at different speeds, and the 1st, 2nd, and requizzes allow for students to show what they have learned. I explained to my kids that the 1st attempt was just a check in, “are you clueless?” and the 2nd attempt was to see if they were on the right track.  Generally the 2nd attempt was far enough away from the original instruction that I felt like they should know it by then.  I told my kids that my goal was for them to all master the content, or be close to mastering, by the 2nd attempt.  I was fine with them needing to take requizzes.  Having a classroom community where taking a requiz wasn’t shameful is important.  Most kids figure out that sometimes they don’t need a requiz when other people do, and that gives them some confidence in the idea that “we all learn at different speeds and understand things differently.”

This entry was posted in Standards Based Grading and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to SBG: The Requizzes

  1. Pingback: SBG: Tips & Tricks | some become pearls

Leave a Reply

